

Report 17.172

23/05/2017 File: CCAB-8-1148

Confirmed public minutes of the Annual Plan 2017/18 Hearing Committee meeting held on Tuesday, 23 May 2017 in the Level 2 East meeting room, Westpac Stadium, Waterloo Quay at 9.36am

Present

Councillors Donaldson (Chair), Blakeley, Brash, Gaylor, Kedgley, Laban (from 9.37am), Laidlaw, Lamason, McKinnon, Ogden, Ponter, Staples (until 11.54am) and Swain (9.36am – 1.28pm and 2.15pm – 3.59pm).

Public Business

The Committee Chair read aloud an email to the Committee from Federated Farmers New Zealand, apologising for not being able to attend the meeting to present their submission.

1 **Apologies**

There were no apologies for absence.

2 **Declarations of conflict of interest**

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

Process for considering submissions and feedback on the adoption of the Annual Plan 2017/18

Report 17.151 File: CCAB-8-1117

Cr Donaldson spoke to the report.

Cr Laban arrived at the meeting during consideration of this item.

Moved (Cr Lamason/ Cr Blakeley)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the contents of the report.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

4 Report on feedback received on consultation document for the Annual Plan 2017/18

Report 17.164 File: CCAB-8-1131

Cr Donaldson spoke to the report.

Moved (Cr McKinnon/ Cr Staples)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Considers the information in this report and attachments in determining its findings and recommendations to Council.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

5 Hearing of oral submissions

A timetable of oral submissions was circulated. There were changes to the scheduled timetable as some submitters spoke at different times and some organisations were represented by different personnel.

Oral submitters were heard in the following order:

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
9.49am – 10.01am	32	Karori Association, William Guest
10.01am – 10.13am	35	Sarah Free
10.13am – 10.19am	43	Judith Graykowski
10.19am – 10.35am	44	Fair Intelligent Transport Wellington, Kerry Wood

The meeting adjourned at 10.35am and reconvened at 10.52am.

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
10.53am – 11.03am	13	Tim Davin
11.03am – 11.12am	45	Chris Horne
11.12am – 11.26am	36	Aorangi Restoration Trust, Paul Cutfield and Bob Burgess
11.27am – 11.43am	25	Living Streets Aotearoa, Ellen Blake
11.43am – 11.54am	16	Upper Hutt City Council, Mayor Guppy

The meeting adjourned at 11.54am and reconvened at 11.59am.

Councillor Staples left the meeting at 11.54am, during the adjournment.

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
12.02pm – 12.27pm	29	Whitireia/ Weltec, Chris Gosling
12.27pm – 12.39pm	38	OraTaiao, Russell Tregonning
12.39pm – 12.49pm	42	Liz Springford
12.49pm – 12.53pm	41	Berhampore Community Association, Liz Springford and Miriam Zeier
12.54am – 1.11pm	48	Kapiti Coast District Council, Mayor Gurunathan, and Councillor Jackie Elliott
1.11pm – 1.14pm	2	Nicholas Beynon
1.15pm – 1.28pm	3	Mark Shanks

The meeting adjourned at 1.28pm for lunch and reconvened at 1.55pm.

Councillor Swain left the meeting at 1.28pm and returned at 2.15pm.

Time	Submission No.	Name and organisation
1.55pm – 2.02pm	34	Wellington East Girls' College School Council, Sophie Reedy-Young and Georgia Ford
2.03pm – 2.04pm	6	Sam Somers
2.05pm – 2.42pm	28	Victoria University of Wellington Students' Association and the Victoria UniversityMāori Student Association, Rory Lenihan-Ikin and Kahu Haimona. Wellington City Mayor Justin Lester and Rainsforth Dix, Director, Student and Campus Living, Victoria University of Wellington, also spoke to support the submission.

The meeting adjourned at 2.42pm for afternoon tea and reconvened at 3.01pm.

The Committee commenced its deliberations.

The Committee then revisited Report 17.164 (see item 4) to address recommendation 4.

Moved

(Cr Lamason/ Cr Ponter)

That the Committee:

4. Recommends to the Council that its Annual Plan incorporate the differences to its 10 Year Plan as identified in the consultation document for the Annual Plan 2017/18.

The motion was **CARRIED**.

The meeting closed at 3.59pm.

Cr B Donaldson (Chair)

Date: