

Report 17.228

Date 20 June 2017 File CCAB-8-1191

Committee Council

Author Helena Strange, Democratic Services Advisor

Wairarapa Committee appointments

1. Purpose

For Council to appoint territorial authority members to the Wairarapa Committee.

2. Wairarapa Committee

2.1 Background

At its meeting on 5 April 2017 the Council established the Wairarapa Committee (the Committee). The purpose of the Committee is to consider matters of importance to the Wairarapa and make recommendations to the Council on these matters.

The current Terms of Reference for the Committee provide that the Committee will consist of eight members appointed by the Council, as follows:

- 1. The Greater Wellington Regional Council Councillor elected from the Wairarapa Constituency, and two other Greater Wellington Regional Council Councillors.
- 2. One member, being an elected member of Carterton District Council appointed by the Council on nomination by Carterton District Council.
- 3. One member, being an elected member of the Masterton District Council appointed by the Council on nomination by Masterton District Council.
- 4. One member, being an elected member of South Wairarapa District Council appointed by the Council on nomination by South Wairarapa District Council.
- 5. One member, appointed by Council on the nomination of Kahungunu ki Wairarapa, for their skills, attributes or knowledge to assist the Committee

6. One member, appointed by Council on the nomination of Rangitāne ō Wairarapa, for their skills, attributes or knowledge to assist the Committee.

Each territorial authority is also entitled to nominate an alternate member for appointment to the Committee. The alternate may attend and vote at meetings of the Committee, but only in the event that the appointed member is unable to attend.

Letters were sent to the Wairarapa territorial authorities asking them to each identify a suitable nominee and alternate for the Committee by the end of May 2017.

2.2 Nominations

The following nominations have been made:

Territorial authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor John Booth	Deputy Mayor Russell Keys
Masterton District Council	Councillor John Dalziell	Councillor Chris Peterson
South Wairarapa District Council	Councillor Colin Wright	Councillor Brian Jephson

3. Communication

The territorial authorities will be advised of the appointments.

4. Consideration of climate change

The matters addressed in this report are of a procedural nature, and there is no need to conduct a climate change assessment.

5. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

5.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance and engagement policy, and decision-making guidelines. Due to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

A formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is not required in this instance.

5.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature and low significance, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

6. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. **Appoints** the following to the Wairarapa Committee as territorial authority representatives:

Territorial authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor John Booth	Deputy Mayor Russell Keys
Masterton District Council	Councillor John Dalziell	Councillor Chris Peterson
South Wairarapa District Council	Councillor Colin Wright	Councillor Brian Jephson

Report prepared by: Report approved by:

Helena Strange Francis Ryan

Democratic Services Advisor, Manager, Democratic Strategy Group Services, Strategy Group