

Report 17.220

Date 16 June 2

Date 16 June 2017 File Z/01/04/19

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group (Joint Committee)

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Joint Committee make the following CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers		
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)	
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)	
	Dan Neely (alternate)	
	Alistair Allan (alternate)	
	Davor Bejakovich (alternate)	

Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller) Mark Constable (alternate) Steve Cody (alternate) Gunther Wild (alternate) Dan Neely (alternate) Toni Thompson (alternate)
	Nicola Brown (alternate) David Chick (alternate) Kane Patena (alternate)
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller) Trevor Farmer (alternate) Brian Anderson (alternate) James Jefferson (alternate) Scott Martin (alternate)
Kapiti District	Wayne Maxwell (Local Controller) Scott Dray (alternate) Bruce Johnston (alternate) Kevin Currie (alternate) Anita Dixon (alternate)
Hutt City	Lester Piggott (Local Controller) Matt Reid (alternate) Bruce Sherlock (alternate) Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate) Craig Cottrill (alternate) Geoff Stuart (alternate) Debra Nicholas (alternate)
Upper Hutt City	Richard Harbord (Local Controller) Matt Reid (alternate) Ian Johnson (alternate) Mike Ryan (alternate) Steve Taylor (alternate) Jessica Hare (alternate) Geoff Swainson (alternate) – from 3 July 2017
Wairarapa	David Hopman (Local Controller) Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Murray Johnstone (alternate) Mark Allingham (alternate) Darryl McCurdy (alternate)

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Nigel Corry (Recovery Manager)

	Dan Neely
	Luke Troy
	Deborah Hume
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca (Recovery Manager)
	Paul Andrews
	Danny McComb
	·
Porirua City	Tamsin Evans
-	
Kapiti Coast District	Sarah Stevenson
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
	-
Upper Hutt City	Steve Taylor (Recovery Manager)
	Mike Ryan
	-
Wairarapa	Tania Madden (Masterton)
-	Jennie Mitchell (South Wairarapa)
	Dave Gittings (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

4. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 – 2018).

5. Communication

No further external communication is required.

6. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

6.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

6.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

7. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. Receives the report;
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report;
- 3. Approves the following controller appointments:
 - a. Richard Harbord, Local Controller, Upper Hutt City;
 - b. Geoff Swainson, Alternate Local Controller, Upper Hutt City; and,
 - c. Darryl McCurdy, Alternate Local Controller, Wairarapa.
- 4. **Approves** the following recovery manager appointments:
 - a. Steve Taylor, Recover Manager, Upper Hutt City
 - b. Mike Ryan, Alternate Recovery Manager, Upper Hutt City
- 5. **Removes** the following appointees from the list:
 - a. Craig Hamilton, Alternate Group Controller, and Alternate Local Controller Wairarapa;
 - b. Geoff Swainson, Alternate Local Controller, Wellington City;
 - c. Lachlan Wallach, Local Controller, Upper Hutt City, and Alternate Local Controller Hutt City; and,
 - d. Dave Jack, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City.

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager