

Report 17.91

Date 21 March 2017 File 2/01/04/19

Committee Civil Defence Emergency Management Group (Joint Committee)

Author Bruce Pepperell, Regional Manager

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Joint Committee make the following CDEM Group appointments.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 15 and 20) authorises Civil Defence Emergency Management Groups (CDEM Groups) to officially appoint the Chair and Deputy Chair for both the CDEM Group and the Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG).

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason. It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

3. Appointment of the Chair of the Wellington region CDEM Group's Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)

Section 20 (1) of the CDEM Act states, a Civil Defence Emergency Management Group must establish and maintain a Civil Defence Emergency Management Co-ordinating Executive Group consisting of:

The Chief Executive Officer of each member local authority or a person acting on the Chief Executive Officer's behalf;

A senior member of the police who is assigned for the purpose by the Commissioner of Police;

CDEM GROUP APPOINTMENTS

A senior member of the Fire Service who is assigned for the purpose by the National Commander;

The Chief Executive Officer of the hospital and health services operating in the area or a person acting on the Chief Executive Officer's behalf; and

Any other persons that may be co-opted by the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group.

In a letter dated 3 March 2017 (**Attachment 1**), the current Chair of the Coordinating Executive Group (CEG) resigned. At the CEG on 10 March, an election was held and the recommendation made that Tony Stallinger, CEO of Hutt City Council, be appointed as the replacement Chair.

4. Other CDEM Group appointments

The updated list of endorsements and appointments for the Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Managers, Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and the Group Lifelines Utility Co-ordinator is proposed as follows.

Statutory appointments:

Controllers	
CDEM Group	Bruce Pepperell (Group Controller)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Anthony Wilson (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Alistair Allan (alternate)
	Davor Bejakovich (alternate)*
Wallington City	Simon Flaisher (Legal Controller)
Wellington City	Simon Fleisher (Local Controller)
	Geoff Swainson (alternate)
	Mark Constable (alternate)
	Steve Cody (alternate)
	Gunther Wild (alternate)
	Dan Neely (alternate)
	Toni Thompson (alternate)
	Nicola Brown (alternate)*
	David Chick (alternate)*
	Kane Patena (alternate)*
Porirua City	Jerry Wrenn (Local Controller)
	Trevor Farmer (alternate)
	Brian Anderson (alternate)
	James Jefferson (alternate)*
	Scott Martin (alternate)*
	(,
Kapiti District	Wayne Maxwell (Local Controller)
	Scott Dray (alternate)

	Bruce Johnston (alternate)
	Kevin Currie (alternate)
	Anita Dixon (alternate)*
	Tima Bixon (atternate)
Hutt City	Lester Piggott (Local Controller)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Bruce Sherlock (alternate)
	Lachlan Wallach (alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (alternate)
	Dave Jack (alternate)
	Craig Cottrill (alternate)
	Geoff Stuart (alternate)*
	Debra Nicholas (alternate)*
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach (Local Controller)
	Richard Harbord (alternate)
	Matt Reid (alternate)
	Ian Johnson (alternate)
	Mike Ryan (alternate)*
	Steve Taylor (alternate)*
	Jessica Hare (alternate)
Wairarapa	David Hopman (Local Controller)
•	Jonathan Hooker (alternate)
	Murray Johnstone (alternate)
	Craig Hamilton (alternate)
	Mark Allingham (alternate)
	, , ,

Note: Names marked with an asterix beside their name are subject to completion of the Wellington Group controller course (Course 104).

Non-statutory appointments:

Recovery Managers	
CDEM Group	Nigel Corry
	Dan Neely
	Luke Troy
	Deborah Hume
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca
	Paul Andrews
	Warren Ulusele
	Danny McComb
Porirua City	Tamsin Evans
Kapiti Coast District	Sarah Stevenson
Hutt City	Kim Kelly
_	

CDEM GROUP APPOINTMENTS

Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach
Wairarapa	Tania Madden (Masterton) Jennie Mitchell (South Wairarapa)
	Dave Gittings (Carterton)

Lifelines Co-ordination		
CDEM Group	Richard Mowll	

5. Comment

Appointments are being made in accordance with the CDEM Act 2002 and the Wellington region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group Plan (2013 – 2018).

6. Communication

No further external communication is required.

7. The decision-making process and significance

The matter requiring decision in this report has been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

7.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Owing to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

7.2 Engagement

Due to its procedural nature, no engagement on this matter has been undertaken.

8. Recommendations

That the CDEM Group:

- 1. **Receives** the report;
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report;
- 3. Appoints Tony Stallinger as Chair of the Wellington CDEM Group Coordinating Executive Group;

- 4. *Approves* the following appointments:
 - a. Davor Bejakovich, Alternate Group Controller, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course;
 - b. Scott Martin, Alternate Local Controller, Porirua City, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course;
 - c. Geoff Stuart, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course;
 - d. Debra Nicholas, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course;
 - e. Mike Ryan, Alternate Local Controller, Upper Hutt City, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course;
 - f. Jessica Hare, Alternate Local Controller, Upper Hutt City; and,
 - g. Steve Taylor, Alternate Local Controller, Upper Hutt City, subject to the satisfactory completion of the WREMO Controllers Course.
 - h. David Hopman, Local Controller, Wairarapa
 - i. Jennie Mitchell, South Wairarapa District Council, Recovery Manager, Wairarapa

Report prepared by:

Bruce Pepperell Regional Manager

Attachment 1 Letter of resignation from Chair of the Coordinating Executive Group (CEG)