Skip to content

Representation Review

Representation Review

Updated 27 August 2018 12:16pm

Proposed representation arrangements for the 2019 local elections

What’s this all about?

On 16 August 2018 the Wellington Regional Council reviewed its representation arrangements, and resolved the following initial proposal to apply for the Council’s elections to be held on 12 October 2019.

Council representation

It is proposed that the Council comprise 13 members elected from six constituencies.

The six constituencies reflect the following identified communities of interest:

Constituency Number of members Community of interest represented by the constituency

Population per Councillor

(Average 39,531)

(+/-10% range from the average: 35,578 to 43,484)

Pōneke/Wellington 5 The area of Wellington City, excluding the area of the Tawa Community 39,500
Porirua/Tawa 2 The area of Porirua City, and the area of the Tawa Community of Wellington City 35,650
Kāpiti 1 The area of the Kapiti Coast District 52,700
Te Awa Kairangi ki Tai/Lower Hutt 3 The area of Lower Hutt City 34,900
Te Awa Kairangi ki Uta/Upper Hutt 1 The area of Upper Hutt City 43,200
Wairarapa 1 The area of South Wairarapa District, Carterton District and Masterton District and that part of Tararua District that falls within the Wellington Region. 44,500

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001 the population that each member represents must be within the range of 39,531 +/- 10% (35,578 to 43,484), unless particular community of interest considerations justify otherwise.

How is this different from current representation arrangements?

Other than for a minor boundary alteration between the Porirua-Tawa and Wellington constituencies, and changes to names of some constituencies, as detailed in the following paragraphs, the Council has retained its current constituency boundaries and number of councillors elected from each constituency.

The proposal includes a minor modification to the boundary between the Wellington Constituency and the Porirua-Tawa Constituency to align with a change to the boundary of the Tawa Community determined by the Local Government Commission on 25 September 2015. For further information on this boundary change go to

After consultation with mana whenua the names of four constituencies have been altered, as follows:

  • Kapiti Coast Constituency has been renamed as “Kāpiti Constituency”
  • Lower Hutt Constituency has been renamed as “Te Awa Kairangi ki Tai/Lower Hutt Constituency”
  • Upper Hutt Constituency has been renamed as “Te Awa Kairangi ki Uta/Upper Hutt Constituency”
  • Wellington Constituency has been renamed as “Pōneke/Wellington Constituency”.

Need more information?

Please contact Francis Ryan, Manager, Democratic Services, phone: 04 8304248, email:, if you have any queries on the Council’s representation proposal.

What do think?

If you have an interest in the proposed representation arrangements, we invite you to make written submissions on the Council’s representation proposal. Submissions are to be forwarded to:

Representation Review, Greater Wellington Regional Council, PO Box 11646, Manners Street, Wellington 6142; or

Email:; or

Fax: 04 385 6960.

Submissions must be received by the Council no later than 26 September 2018.

Please include your name, email and postal address, and phone number in your submission and clearly state whether or not you would like to make an oral presentation in support of your submission. The Representation Review 2018 Hearing Committee will hear oral presentations in support of written submissions in October 2018.

Please note that any submission you make may become publicly available under the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987. If you are making a submission as an individual, Greater Wellington Regional Council will consider removing your contact details if you so request in your submission.