

Media Release

10 December 2014

For immediate release

Te Awarua o Porirua Whaitua Committee appointed

A diverse and talented group of people have been chosen to help the Porirua community decide how it wants to care for and manage its rivers, harbours and coastal water into the future.

Farmers, forestry and fishery specialists, scientists, engineers and ecological experts, politicians, iwi and community representatives are among the thirteen members of Te Awarua o Porirua Whaitua Committee confirmed by the Regional Council today.

"This fantastic mix of people have all the passion, skill and commitment that will be needed to work with Porirua's diverse and energised community. They will be instrumental in setting a direction for managing natural resources in the Porirua watershed," says Councillor Chris Laidlaw.

Over the next year the committee will become fully acquainted with the land and water that flows toward the Porirua harbour and coast. This area is shaped by the geography and is known as a whaitua. Te Awarua o Porurua whaitua includes all the land that slopes from the highest ridges and hills toward the Porirua or the sea so it also includes areas of Wellington City in Johnsonville, Newlands as well as Pukerua Bay and Whitby which are in Porirua City Council's boundaries.

The committee will then work with others to set standards for water and land in the area which will ultimately become part of the regional plan.

"People in Te Awarua o Porirua whaitua have a rare opportunity to be in at the start, while rules for their area are in the making. The Whaitua committee's job is to make sure people fully understand the issues and feel confident to be involved in finding solutions.

"It's a big ask but we are sure we have the right people for the role. They not only have a valuableskills and experience but very importantly local knowledge, local roots and a desire to leave an environment they are proud of for future generations."

The committee will begin work early next year.

Document Number: 1437560

Te Awarua o Porirua Whaitua Committee members

Richard Cook	Community
Stu Farrant	Community
John Gibbs	Community
Warrick Lyon	Community
Dr John McKoy	Community
Jennie Smeaton	Community
Diane Strugnell	Community
Larissa Toelupe	Community
Sharli-jo Solomon	Te Runanga o Toa Rangatira
Cr Bronwyn Kropp	Porirua City Council
Cr Malcolm Sparrow	Wellington City Council
Cr Barbara Donaldson	Te Upoko Taiao (elected)
Rawiri Faulkner	Te Upoko Taiao (appointed)

Document Number: 1437560